NRM MPs launch fifth term campaign for Museveni

A group of NRM Members of Parliament have launched a campaign to see President Yoweri Museveni retain power for another term of five years after 2016.

The MPs who addressed a press conference at Parliament Building Wednesday are Peter Ogwang (youth eastern), Kenneth Omona (Kaberamaido), Samuel Ssemugaba (Kiboga west), Peter Okeyoh (Bukooli island) and Nelson Sabila (Kongasis).

“We are still asking his Excellence to run in 2016. He is still the centre of strength, cohesion and unity in the party,” Omona said.

He appealed to Ugandans to support Museveni to improve service delivery and to step up the fight against corruption.

Omana said they were happy with the nomination by the President of MP Richard Todwong as minister.

The MPs, however, claimed that in their bid to see Museveni retain power, they were being threatened by some people in NRM, but vowed that they would not be intimidated. They did not name them when pressed for names by journalists, but Omona said they were associated with security.

“For those who are against this, let us come together and have a peaceful engagement,” Omona added.

Ogwang challenged those who want to unseat Museveni in 2016 to come up and do so, saying they were welcome. “The best team we have is that led by Museveni,” he said.

Joyce Namutebi

New Vision



Comments are closed.